Deck the Halls!

The time has come to decorate for Christmas! 

I somewhat dread it each year and try to put it off, but once things are up I do love the feeling of Christmas time.  This year I got almost everything done while the kids were in school, but we saved are big tree for an evening when everyone could pitch in.

For those of you who know me well, it goes against EVERYTHING in me to let the children decorate the tree!  I know that it is the right thing to do, but up until now I have been able to keep them content with either 1) watching Mommy decorate the tree, or 2) handing Mommy the ornaments.  That worked for awhile this year, but then they were ready to jump right in!

The tree

Grant

Peyton

Caroline

I am even being strong and NOT rearranging the little “cluster” of ornaments that Caroline insisted on hanging all together along the bottom!!  Though its the first thing that my overly-controlling and organized brain zooms to when I look at the tree, I am reminded why I leave it that way every morning:  Caroline bee-lines downstairs each day to look at the tree and say “Look!  Mommy helped me and I put those there!”  She is so proud (and so am I!!)

Published in: on December 5, 2008 at 9:30 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ahandfulofdeffenbaughs.wordpress.com/2008/12/05/deck-the-halls/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. The tree looks great – and I am VERY impressed that you haven’t moved any ornaments. You and I are so alike in the control that I know it’s giving you the shakes. You are SUCH an awesome mom! I’ll be needing your tips in Jan (I hope!).


Leave a Reply

