We’re baaaaacccckkkk!

Hey World!

First off, sorry for the several month delay on blogging!  For those of you who know me well, you know I can be a bit of a perfectionist {just a bit…} and so seeing the weeks and months go by on the blog just flooded me with dread as to how I would ever be able to sit down and catch up on everything that I’ve missed!!  Well….2010 resolution #1 – Start again on the blog – from scratch!

I can’t guarantee how timely I will be on posts – my husband reminds me that all my facebook friends know everything that is going on anyway! – but I am making a renewed effort and will try and do my best!

So this first post of 2010 will be a recap of sorts.  So much happened in ’09 — there is no way to get it all down — but I’ll see what I can do about a list of highlights from where I last left off.  I think it was March, 09.  Sheesh – that’s awful!!   Here goes:

  • We converted our attic to a sewing room and I bought all new equipment!!
  • Had 2 really sick little girls this Spring – 1 with bronchitis & 1 with pneumonia
  • Witnessed an amazing Easter where my 6 yr old asked Jesus to be her Savior!
  • Grant played some mean soccer in the Spring
  • Our schools shut down for the Swine flu scare in May
  • Had a great VBS week with all the kids – then we all got sick from it!
  • Adopted 2 sweet kitties!  Heidi & Holly
  • Did an AWESOME stay-cation week with our bestest friends!
  • Found a small snake in the house
  • Tackled potty training the last Deffenbaugh!  Woo Hoo!
  • Made summer trips to OK and MI to see family
  • Caroline called 911 and we dealt with cops at the door
  • Had the greatest b-day getting to go to Women of Faith conference with friends
  • Survived the Mommy’s b-day/Grant’s b-day/Caroline’s b-day/meet the teacher/back to school week
  • Watched my boy tear it up on the football field while my big girl was a cheerleader on the sideline
  • Lived through the process of putting in a pool
  • Blessed to have my mom and step dad move down here, right around the corner!
  • Watched Peyton do her thing in the Children’s Christmas Choir
  • Had a white Christmas in Dallas for the first time in 86 years
  • Rang in the New Year with some of our best pals in our new hot tub

Whew!  I know I am missing a million awesome memories, but I think these are the highlights.  Crazy year – busy year – scary year with all that is happening around us, but a BLESSED year no matter how you slice it!

So, I am hoping that 2010 brings me this renewed perspective each day.  Of just how blessed I am.  I am trying to back down from my way over-committed schedule and take in life before it passes me by.  And when I can….I’ll let you know how its going…

Published in: on January 1, 2010 at 10:23 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ahandfulofdeffenbaughs.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/were-baaaaacccckkkk/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I didn’t know your mom moved down there!! That’s one thing you can tell Ritchie….


Leave a Reply

