Doors

Last weekend we had a very neat opportunity to celebrate the holidays with Ritchie’s company in Raleigh, North Carolina.  Because the company originally started as such a small group they flew everyone in (including spouses) for the holiday party.  Last year it was a bigger group but still very intimate and fun.  This year the sales force has nearly doubled in size and yet the tradition continues!!  Another tradition has been giving FaBuLoUs gifts to the top performing sales reps and this year was no exception.  The format was a ‘Let’s Make a Deal’ situation of choosing between 4 doors behind which held your prize.  There were clues which we all put our heads together to try and figure out and though we had 1 totally right, 2 were only slightly close and 1 was absolutely way off!!

It led me to start thinking.  (Probably in the shower, since that is when all my big thoughts seem to take shape)  What about the doors in my life?  How do I know which one to choose?  I think its pretty similar in that I look for clues, talk to all those close to me and see what they think of the clues, line them all up and see what I think is best – and that’s my door!

In the 1st 10 years of our marriage we moved to 7 different homes in 5 different states.  Sometimes it was as simple as ‘you are getting a promotion and moving to XX’.  Sometimes it was a corporate merger that had us putting out our feelers and getting a call to come somewhere else.  Only twice have we picked the place and rolled the dice that it would work.  (Can I just say for the record, those were both Texas!  No one has ever moved us here….WE have moved us here!)

Every one of those moves and job changes were a new door.  Some of those times multiple doors stood in front of us.  We have always had a unique (albeit, Excel spreadsheet) way of sorting our clues, assigning both the pros and cons a perceived value, getting wise counsel, praying for direction, etc.  But in the end what usually has happened is that some doors close and some get thrown wide open.  We have taken that in the past as a sign of what is meant to be, we have felt MUCH peace about it, and we pushed on through our new open door.

But here is my latest shower thought:  Is every open door a ‘yes’?  Are there opportunities that fall into place in front of you that you are still meant to say No to?  Could it be the case that you closing an open door is what would lead to a better door opening??

I don’t know.  This isn’t a post about some great epiphany I had that gave me the answers.  But rather a great epiphany I had that I really don’t have all the answers.

I also don’t believe that ‘bad choices’ on the doors is the end all of all that was prepared for us!  God uses ALL things for good.  Even the wrong doors.  One amazing blessing I have from living all over creation is looking back to see some of the purposes of those moves.  Some were to grow and challenge me.  Some had nothing to do with me but were more an opportunity for me to pour into someone/something else.  One move gave us Sweet Caroline.  Had we not spent 2.5 years in Philly she may never had been.

I just know that I want to be intentional and that I want my priorities and my values to lead my choices.  And, it would be cool if Wayne Brady were there to intro my doors to me.  Just sayin.

Published in: on December 8, 2011 at 9:42 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ahandfulofdeffenbaughs.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/doors/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

