Smile! You’re on Candid Camera!!

Today was an interesting day.  Read:  weird.

I ran to the store to get a few things because I was feeling crafty.   I decided that I was going to make myself a shirt (getting weird already, huh) and so I picked out a couple of fun prints I thought would work well.   The lady at the cutting counter is someone that I have encountered before and lets just say that she tends to come across as a person with an attitude.  She tells you what she thinks and usually it isn’t super courteous.   Today she asked me what I was making and I told her – a shirt.  She told me how awful this particular fabric was to work with.  As much as humanly possible, I try to be constantly focused when I am out and about on making sweet conversation with people I cross paths with – the check out people, fellow shoppers, etc.  I maintained my composure and assumed that though her delivery was rough she meant well by giving me a tip on handling this kind of fabric.  When she got to the next fabric she cackled out loud (truly, it was a cackle – there is no other word) “Obviously you are using THIS one for some kind of Halloween costume!  Hahahaaaaa!!”  Umm, no – a shirt, was what went through my head.  But at this point (see the weird!) I just giggled and said “Yes” so as to diffuse it all.  I got all my pieces, I thanked her and wished her well, then turned around to almost run into a bird sitting on the handle of the shopping cart next to me.  Weird is now off the charts.  I was so in awe (I can say that I in all my years I don’t think I’ve ever seen a bird at a store before.  Ever.)  that I circled back around to get another look and snapped a picture on my phone.  A bird?  A bird.  Huh.

Then I did something weird.  Now here, you read:  dumb.  I posted the picture on Facebook asking “Is this ok?”  Honestly truly with every shred of my being I tell you that my intention was not to judge this woman, make fun, or look to stir the pot — I just really wanted to know if it was ok to bring birds in the store!  Has anyone seen this?  Is it common and I have just never noticed?  Then weird which led to dumb went to the whole next level.

I think my Facebook photo is up to 30-some comments.  Some bird lovers, some bird haters.  Some bird haters calling bird lovers odd.  Animals were compared to kids and kids to animals and before I even got home from the shopping trip I had stirred a pot that I never even wanted to put on the stove.  Ugh.  All for a shirt that is going to look like a Halloween costume.

So, here is what I learned from all this today.  Because there are lessons everywhere if you only look.

I really am on Candid Camera.

When I choose to be sweet to the check out people, the shoppers and even the not super courteous lady at the fabric counter – who sees that?  They do, I do, and He does.

When I post a picture of a bird in a store and start a fire storm on Facebook – who sees that?  I do, He does and so do 487 of my good buddies.

The intentions behind those and other actions of mine.  Who sees that?  Just Him and me.

No matter if it is something I do in front of 1000, 10, 1, or alone – it is seen.  It matters.

This reality doesn’t make me walk around looking over my shoulder, worried to keep up good appearances, to keep a smile on my face no matter what.  He knows my intentions anyway.  He knows my heart.  He knows when I am doing it for show or doing it for real, so why do it for show?  Who am I trying to impress??

This reality weighs a lot on me also in the fact that my kids see.  And actions often speak louder than words.  My friends see.  My neighbors see.  And if I say that my purpose is to reflect His glory then where the rubber meets the road I had better be doing just that.  Because don’t kid yourself….we’re all reflecting something.

There is a beauty in this as well in that He sees what no one else does.  When I sacrifice for someone else, when I hold my tongue, when I choose what’s right, when I toil away at something that no one notices…He does.   And His reward is a joy I can’t seem to get anywhere else.

So leaving the fabric store today I couldn’t help but say under my breath on the way to the car, “Smile!  You’re on Candid Camera!”

 

Published in: on October 23, 2012 at 7:21 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ahandfulofdeffenbaughs.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/smile-youre-on-candid-camera/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t see any evil intent associated with posting the photo on FB. Its not everyday one sees a bird perched upon a shopping cart handle next to the holiday calicos which are 30% off this week. I think when someone sees something so out of the ordinary that they question a plausible set up on a tv show it’s definitely worth documenting. To this day I’m still kicking myself for not snapping a pic of a pair of dogs surfing the cab of a truck going 85 down Central Expressway. I do know that our God works in the most awesome and purposeful ways and you have no idea how much I needed a sweet text from a friend offering help in transport to ballet on a busy Tuesday followed by a gut busting episode of school girl creative texting silliness. I think every mama needs that every once in awhile to remember to take a break from the seriousness and burdens that one may be entrenched within and to remember to seek out the blessings in life. And one of those dear blessings is YOU!
    Xoxo my sister!!!!
    M

  2. Love you M!
    And might I add, I was slightly exaggerating the ‘fire storm’ idea and the awfulness of my bird pic on Facebook. If nothing else, this baby has gotten alot of mileage and generated alot of laughs and that is not a bad thing! But it did make me reflect and spurred on this post of not only my actions but my intentions being known. That nothing is outside the umbrella of my obedience and purpose. I can’t live life one way and then doing something bizarre on FB that contradicts that. I’m not saying my birdie post did that, but it just gave me a friendly reminder that some post could, so be watchful.

    That’s all!

    And also for clarification, my SIL told me that there are certain stores that allow pets in for training purposes & acclimation. No confirmation as of yet if Hobby Lobby and birds fit that bill… 😀


Leave a Reply

